This website places cookies on your computer (more info...). By continuing to use this website you are consenting to these cookies.


< Back to Curriculum

National Curriculum Key Stages

In England, all maintained schools are required to teach the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (3-5 years) and the National Curriculum, which caters for all pupils from 5 -16 years of age.  
The curriculum is divided into Key Stages of learning as follows:
Early Years Foundation Curriculum: 3-5 years (Nursery and Reception)
Key Stage One: 5 – 7 years (Year One and Year Two)
Key Stage Two: 7 – 11 years (Year Three, Year Four, Year Five and Year Six)
Key Stage Three: 11- 14 years (Year Seven, Year Eight and Year Nine)
Key Stage Four: 14 – 16 years (Year Ten and Year Eleven)
After this, pupils either leave school for college, employment, or stay on for ‘A’ level or other vocational courses.        

All website content copyright © Bligh Infant School, Children's Centre & Daycare : Website Policy Website design for primary schools, by

Log in