This website places cookies on your computer (more info...). By continuing to use this website you are consenting to these cookies.


< Back to Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

   Information for Parents

“Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.”

 (Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage September 2012)



What does Early Years Foundation Stage mean?


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) refers to children from birth to five years of age. There are 4 themes which underpin all the guidance.  These are:

A unique child + positive relationships + enabling environments = learning and development


These themes and the principles that inform then, work together for the children in the EYFS.

How will my child learn?

The ways in which the child engages with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically – underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

Each area of learning and development will be implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult led, adult initiated and child initiated learning both indoors and outdoors. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems and relate to others.


How will I know my child is making progress?

Assessment plays an important part in celebrating children’s progress, understanding their needs and planning activities and support.

Ongoing assessment is an integral part of the learning and development process. It involves practitioners observing children to understand their level of achievement, interest and learning styles, and to then shape learning experiences for each child reflecting those observations. 

Towards the end of their time in Reception, children are assessed against the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile.  This is used to judge whether a child has reached a 'Good Level of Development', i.e. a level typical for a child of their age. 

A Good Level of Development is reached if the Early Learning Goals in all the Prime Areas (see below) and Literacy and Mathematics is achieved.


Learning Stories

These are the childrens’ learning stories. You will have many opportunities throughout the year to look through and share these stories with your child. They will work alongside a Home Learning Story where we ask you to note any ‘wow’ moments you see at home.

How is the EYFS organised?

The areas of learning are organised into 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas.

The Prime areas are fundamental, work together, and move through to support development in all other areas.

·         Personal, Social, Emotional Development

·         Communication and Language

·         Physical Development

The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society.

·         Literacy

·         Mathematics

·         Understanding the World

·         Expressive Art and Design


What do I do if I want to know more?

·         If you have any questions do not hesitate to talk to any member of the Foundation Team in school for support with any aspect of your child’s learning

·         More information can be found in the Development Matters and the Statutory Framework for the Foundation Stage 2012 documents

·         Other good websites are and




All website content copyright © Bligh Infant School, Children's Centre & Daycare : Website Policy Website design for primary schools, by

Log in