This website places cookies on your computer (more info...). By continuing to use this website you are consenting to these cookies.


< Back to Curriculum

Assessment and Testing

Assessment and the new National Curriculum

Until July 2014, children were assessed against national curriculum levels.  The expected level at the end of Key Stage One (Year 2) was Level Two and at the end of Key Stage Two (Year Six) was Level Four. 

From September 2014, and in line with the new National Curriculum, assessment in schools changed.  Levels will no longer be used. 

At the end of Key Stage One and Key Stage Two, children will be assessed against a set of statements setting out what every child should be able to do.  Schools are free to assess progress in any way they choose.  So that you are kept informed about your child's progress whilst in our school, each year group will be broken down into developmental steps - Emerging/Developing/Secure/Exceeding.  The expected level at the end of each year will be 'Secure'.

For this academic year only, the Department for Education has stated that children in Year Two and Year Six will continue to be assessed using levels.  This is because of the national assessments that take place in May of each year.  From September 2015, these children will go on to be assessed against the new curriculum.

Teacher Assessment
In our school, children’s work is continuously assessed by the class teacher so that it is clear what the child has understood, which aspects of work need further explanation and/or practice, and which work needs to be tackled next. The children are then given targets to work towards, which are shared with parents. 

Parents are formally informed of their child’s progress during parent consultations and through annual written reports. However, our open door policy means that all parents and carers are welcome to speak to their child’s class teacher at any time about their child’s progress.

National Assessment and Testing

Children in the Reception classes are assessed against the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile in June of each year.  Throughout their time in reception, the children work towards achieving a Good Level of Development.  For more information about this, please read the EYFS section

The Year 1 children take part in an annual phonic assessment set by the government. This takes place in June of each year.  The phonics screening check is an assessment of your child’s ability to decode words using only his or her phonic knowledge. It helps us to confirm whether your child has met the expected standard for a child at the end of Year 1.  Children who do not take the check in Year 1, or who do not meet the expected standard, will take the check again at the end of Year 2.
Children in Year 2 are involved in the annual National Standard Assessment Tasks (SATs). These are tests and tasks devised by the government which help the teacher in assessing each child’s level at the end of Key Stage 1, i.e. the end of the summer term prior to moving to the Junior School.
The Year 6 children also take part in national tests called SATs, which are set annually by the government. These are statutory tests set by the government which help the teacher in assessing each child’s level at the end of Key Stage 2, prior to moving to Secondary School. These assessments take place nationally every May in Year 6 and provide a benchmark against which the school is judged. 

Children in Years 3, 4 and 5 currently sit QCA (Qualification and Curriculum Agency) tests each year in May.  The results of these tests are used to inform the class teacher's assessment, together with other assessment information.


Documents - please click to open

pdf.gif: The Bligh Federation Assessment Principles

The Bligh Federation Assessment Principles

File size: 67KB (PDF File)

All website content copyright © Bligh Infant School, Children's Centre & Daycare : Website Policy Website design for primary schools, by

Log in